Organizational set up/ Functions and Duties
NCM Decisions
Success Stories
Sachar Committee Report
PM's New 15 Point Programme
Important Circulars/Orders
NCM Recommendations
Annual Programme of    Action                             
State Minorities Commissions
Budget of NCM
Complaint Monitoring System
Library & Publications/ Reports
Minority Population
Citizen Charter
Contact Us
Profile of NCM

Government of India
National Commission for Minorities

3rd Floor, Block -3, CGO Complex, New Delhi-110003
Ph. No.: 24601752 Fax No.: 24693302

The Union Government set up the National Commission for Minorities (NCM) under the National Commission for Minorities Act, 1992. Five   religious   communities,   viz; Muslims,   Christians, Sikhs,  Buddhists and  Zoroastrians (Parsis)   have   been   notified   as   minority  communities by the Union Government. Further vide notification detail 27th Jan 2014, Jains have also been notified as minority community.

Andhra Pradesh , Assam , Bihar, Chattisgarh, Delhi , Jharkhand, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal have also set up State Minorities Commissions in their respective States.  Their offices are located in the State capitals.  The functions of these Commissions, inter-alia, are to safeguard and protect the interests of minorities provided in the Constitution and laws enacted by Parliament and the State Legislatures.

Aggrieved persons belonging to the minority communities may approach the concerned State Minorities Commissions for redressal of their grievances.  They may also send their representations, to the National Commission for Minorities, after exhausting all remedies available to them.  Complaints taken up by the Commission are featured on its website .


National Commission
for Minorities

3rd Floor, Block-3, CGO Complex, New Delhi 110003
Tel: 011-24363821,011-24364816
Fax: 24363301
Toll Free Number: 1800 110 088


More Topics



You are Visitor no.